Missed Music

Music you didn’t know you needed…until now.

The weekend mix: Happy days are here again

2011 is shaping up. I landed a job I applied for late last year. It looks like a good one, too. So at last I’m leaving the ranks of the under-employed and I’ll be making some money. Things are going swimmingly with my girlfriend too. (What is the genesis of that odd expression, anyway? Swimmingly?) I’m going to a posh wedding tonight that promises to be fun. All in all, I’m feeling pretty damn good.

Working again and pretty happy about it.

On that note, I put together a mix of songs that are either about good times or have happiness in the title.

  1. This Will Be Our Year – OK Go
    You remember their treadmill video for ‘Here It Goes Again’ and you might remember their awesome Rube Goldberg machine video for ‘This Too Shall Pass.’ These guys are about a lot more then gimmicky videos, though. They are about joyful, inventive pop music like this.
  2. It’s About Time – The Lemonheads
    I’ve always been a big Evan Dando fan. He writes the most pleasing melodies and he has a great vocal delivery.
  3. Finally Made Me Happy – Macy Gray
    A lot of people took notice of Macy Gray’s debut album and then she faded a bit, but I don’t thing she’s lost a step. I always check out her albums when she releases one. This is from her 2007 release, “Big.”
  4. Joyful Noise – Derek Trucks Band
    This aptly named nearly-all-instrumental composition is such a high-energy, upbeat song. This is a good live performance, too. Trucks is an amazing guitarist and a heck of a bandleader.
  5. Happy Hour Hero – moe.
    Go out and pick up “Tin Cans and Car Tires.” Oh, and go see moe. next time they come to your town. Give a listen to the lyrics in this great Rob Derhak tune.
  6. Awesome – Satellite Party
    Satellite Party is a Perry Farrell project. This is a surprisingly pretty love song. It’s almost cheesy, but somehow Farrell sells it to me.
  7. Everybody’s Gonna Be Happy – The Kinks
    Vintage Ray Davies. Thank you once again to John Cusack for turning me onto this great song I may not have found otherwise.
  8. Stupidly Happy – XTC
    I love XTC. This is nearly a silly filler track for them but many songwriters would kill to be able to generate infectious guitar riffs and vocal melodies that they seemed to toss off so effortlessly.
  9. Joy – Bettye LaVette
    LaVette has been in the business a long time and has come to mainstream success comparatively late in life. Check out this live performance and you’ll wonder why it took us so long to notice her.
  10. Happy Feet – 8 ½ Souvenirs
    These guys play fun, jazz-influenced music with a throwback feel, kind of in the mold of Squirrel Nut Zippers, but more polished.
  11. Action Figure Party – Action Figure Party
    This is the title track to one of the coolest party jazz albums I own. Listen to the great lyrics as you groove to the funky jazz.
  12. Wonderful Night – Fatboy Slim
    I have never heard of Lateef the Truth Speaker, but he really lays it down on this track. The energy is great, but watch out for the lyrics, parents.
  13. Over the Rainbow / What a Wonderful World – Israel Kamakawiwo’ole
    This song has been used in many TV shows so you’ve probably heard it before. If not, though, don’t miss it. Honestly, I think it’s better than Judy Garland’s version of ‘Rainbow’ and as good as Satchmo’s version of ‘Wonderful World.’
  14. Happiness – Built to Spill
    The fantastic slide guitar on this track makes it my favorite from Built to Spill’s great release, “Ancient Melodies of the Future.” As always, Doug Martsch gives a great vocal performance, too.
  15. I Hope You’re Happy Now – Elvis Costello
    No one did bitter like Elvis Costello. The instruments play an upbeat, poppy song, but the lyrics contain sarcastic gems like, “But you make him sound like frozen food, his love will last forever.”

You may have noticed that I only got two posts up this week and the “Friday Mix” got posted on a Saturday. I think I’m going to be busier now that I’m working. I will still try to get up a least a couple album reviews during the week, but I may start calling these the Weekend Mixes instead so I can get them up on Saturdays when I will have more time. Enjoy this mix with a glass of champagne and let the good times roll.

January 22, 2011 Posted by | Classic Rock, Jam Bands, Jazz, Mix CD, Popular, R&B, Rock | Leave a comment