Missed Music

Music you didn’t know you needed…until now.

The Friday mix: Hitting the hard stuff

I decided today I was just going to put together a random mix of some good music I had been listening to lately. After I was done, I realized nearly all of them were pretty hard rockers. So I pulled out the mellower tracks to use another day and refined this into a mix of hard rock, heavy pop, and metal. What can I say? The holidays are over. Time to get serious.

From the looks on their faces, that had to be Jägermeister. Hopefully, you'll like this hard stuff more.

  1. If That’s the Case then I Don’t Know – The Electric Soft Parade
    This combination of electric power chords and a U2-worthy, friendly pop hook grabs me. I recommend the amusing video too.
  2. Lazy Gun – Jet
    There are people who can write a great guitar hook like this and there are people who write nice vocal melodies. These guys are on your radio because they can pair them up with each other.
  3. Parish Sinker – This Moment in Black History
    These guys are not for everyone. In fact, my dog got up and left just now while I was cranking this song. Sorry, buddy, but this is some smoking hot punk/metal. Bonus fact: these guys are from my hometown of Cleveland. This whole region has spawned some great avant-rock and we’re back with some more for you.
  4. Run Away – Staind
    Staind has been at it for more than 15 years. This gem from 2005 is heavy but ear-friendly.
  5. Rapid Fire Tollbooth – Omar Rodriguez-Lopez
    Mars Volta member and master of modern prog rock Omar Rodriguez-Lopez sounds like the musical child of Traffic and Rush in this great 8-minute track. Well, the first 5 minutes of it, anyway. Then it gets weird.
  6. Under My Feet – None More Black
    This doesn’t sound very far from the ubiquitous neo-punk I hate so much, but while they are definitely a punk band there is a certain… integrity? …creativity?  Not sure, but it keeps the sound fresh. The energy is unbelievable too.
  7. Get Down Moses – Joe Strummer and the Mescaleros
    If I’m going to put some new punk on here, I feel I should include this fantastic ska groove from punk legend Joe Strummer.
  8. Why I’m Here – Oleander
    Yes, yes, I know. This song sounds like an alternate take of ‘Lithium’ by Nirvana, or something out of that session anyway. I don’t care. I like the vocal performance and the way the guitar lands after he sings, “I can’t love you anymore.”
  9. Lazy Gun – JET
    Most of the songs on this mix rock harder than this one. It’s pretty straight ahead pop/rock but it’s built around a good, hard guitar hook even if the chorus and bridge are mellow.
  10. Hooch – The Melvins
    What I love about The Melvins is that they really mean it. Not the lyrics so much, because they write some strange and ironic lyrics. But the hammering guitar, gunshot percussion, and growling vocals? Yeah, they mean that stuff alright.
  11. Destroy the Dancefloor – Skindred
    I’ve been through several Skindred albums and although I like the blend of ska/punk/metal they play, a lot of their music misses me. Every one of their albums has a few great tracks like this one, though.
  12. Love Empire – Big Collapse
    Sadly, I’ve heard other songs by these guys and they were a lot like this one, only not as good. They really hit on something here, though. Grinding pop guitar and shouted backing vocals provide a relentless energy that sets up the chorus nicely.
  13. Mr. Pink – Satchel
    I’ve been listening to Shawn Smith’s music for a long time. He’s the lead vocalist for Satchel and Pigeonhed. If you haven’t heard either of those you may have heard his work with the supergroup/side project Brad, which he formed with Pearl Jam guitarist Stone Gossard. He’s a talented singer and songwriter and his projects almost invariably rock.
  14. Psycho – Puddle of Mudd
    I think even I heard this song on the radio at some point even though I almost never listen to the radio. I read that it topped the charts for 9 weeks. Still, I had completely forgotten about it until I heard it at a friend’s house. Great song.

Enjoy this mix with a Founder Imperial Stout,  or something else surprisingly hard. Have a great weekend.

January 14, 2011 Posted by | Hard Rock, Metal, Mix CD, Popular, punk, Rock | 1 Comment