Missed Music

Music you didn’t know you needed…until now.

The Friday mix: somebody get me a doctor

My girlfriend spent the day seeing a bunch of doctors today. Tests at the hospital is a lousy way to spend a Friday. I started singing Eels’ ‘Hospital Food’ to her last night and though she’s an Eels fan, she didn’t know that one. That convinced me. It is a good topic for a mix. Listen in good health.

"Are you sure this is covered?"

  1. Hospital Food – Eels
    “Next thing you know you’re eating hospital food. Delicious hospital food.” Isn’t that the way it goes?
  2. I’m So Sick – Flyleaf
    I wasn’t quite sure what to think of these guys at first. Lead singer Lacey Mosley has a sweet voice and she’s cute but this song is really heavy. Think of some raspy dude’s voice singing this when you listen to it. It would work. Then I read they play Christian rock and metal. I still don’t know what of think of them.
  3. Attack the Doctor – Blockhead
    I threw this one on my chill out mix. The drums and guitar vamp while various atmospherics wander through the groove. It’s cool.
  4. Love Can Damage Your Health – Telepopmusik
    Also from the chill out mix. Telepopmusik is a French duo who play some smooth electronica. This is a simple song, but the arrangement is interesting and it has grown on me.
  5. Hospital Up – The Melvins
    The Melvins do some stuff that can get pretty weird. This is a straight-ahead rock song that is accessible and appealing…except for the last minute and a half, but I edited that off of my copy.
  6. Healing Is Difficult – Sia
    Healing is difficult, but Sia is easy to listen to. She has a distinctive voice and you may have heard her work with Zero 7. This one, though, is the title track from her great 2000 debut.
  7. Monster Hospital – Metric
    Cool song that reminds me of The Breeders. Creepy freaking video that reminds me of David Lynch.
  8. Miracle Medicine – Jason Falkner
    Falkner is an alum of Jellyfish and has written some great power pop, like this.
  9. Lock Doctor – James Harman
    Here is some down home oozy blues for you. Harman lays it down.
  10. She’s a Healer – Neil Young
    Neil Young has been at it a long time, but you still have to listen to what he’s doing. He explores every corner of this 9-minute bass-driven groove and it doesn’t get stale.
  11. World Sick – Broken Social Scene
    Broken Social Scene isn’t as much of a band as it is just a musical collective. No fewer than 25 musicians have contributed to albums and live shows and most of them live in and around Toronto. “You Forgot It in People” is my favorite album by them, but this is my favorite song off of “Forgiveness Rock Record.”
  12. Dr. Jimmy – The Who
    From the brilliant “Quadrophenia.” The main character, Jimmy, has 4 personalities. This one is a bastard.
  13. I Don’t Want To Die (In The Hospital) – Conor Oberst and the Mystic Valley Band
    “You gotta take me back outside. Help me get my boots on.” The energy of the song fits the proud desperation of the lyrics.

Enjoy this mix with a Flaming Moe. Because it’s medicinal. Have a great weekend.

January 7, 2011 Posted by | Blues, Classic Rock, Electronica, Metal, Mix CD, Popular, Rock | 1 Comment