Missed Music

Music you didn’t know you needed…until now.

The Friday mix: Not sleepy, but sleep-related

I haven’t been sleeping. First off, I seem to have trouble actually going to bed. I putter around and I mean to get to bed, but I don’t actually lay down until it’s already pretty late. Then I often have trouble actually falling asleep. Last night I actually was sleeping and I had a dream that woke me.

It's not working.

I was on a hillside somewhere and noticed that I had sat down next to a little garter snake. Harmless little fellow. Well, then it pulled its head out from its coils and I noticed it was quite a larger snake than I had thought. Not a python or anything, but maybe a 5-footer of some kind. I scooted about 3 feet away from it figuring it wouldn’t be interested in me. It looked at me and then struck suddenly. I was so startled that I jumped and woke myself. It was 4:30 AM and I was wide-awake, heart pounding. I didn’t get back to sleep last night.

As I lay there contemplating the vague outlines of my dark room, it occurred to me that a sleep mix might be a good topic for today. This isn’t sleepy music, but all of the songs have sleep in the title (save one). Sleep has inspired some great music. I hope you enjoy them.

  1. Sleep – Crack the Sky
    These guys were a classic 70s act that never quite broke through, but I was into them back in the day and they’re still great. A lot of their songs are tongue in cheek, but this alternately energetic and beautiful song is one of their more serious tracks.
  2. Sleeping Beauty – A Perfect Circle
    Well, you’d never fall asleep with this one on but it’s fantastic. Guitarist Billy Howerdel wrote songs for Tool’s Maynard Keenan to sing and their album “Mer de Noms” is packed with winner after winner.
  3. Majik City / Sleep Logging – Glocca Morra
    Glocca Morra’s vocalist spends a fair amount of time screaming on this album, but the melodies are pleasing and the arrangements are interesting. I like this two-parter.
  4. Can I Sleep in Your Arms? – Willie Nelson
    I’m not a big country music guy, but Willie’s “Red Headed Stranger” is a masterpiece. Give a listen to this gorgeous track. Most of the album has this emotional, mellow feel.
  5. Sleeping Lessons – The Shins
    This is apparently what I need. Kind of a cool fan-made video for this song of two distinct halves. I really like how the unusual melody Mercer sings plays with the repeating keyboard and guitar arpeggio.
  6. A Song for Sleeping – Stone Temple Pilots
    This was the best song on “Shangri-La Dee Da.” My daughter just aked me to put it on her mix, too, for anyone still looking for more kid’s music. Incidentally, how many hundred times do you have to play this song on Guitar Hero to nail it like this?
  7. Sleepless – Soul Coughing
    “I got the will do drive myself sleepless. Skeedunt. Stunt the runt, smoking Buddha blunt.” Where do the lyrics come from?
  8. Sleepwalk – Santo and Johnny
    What a fabulous vintage instrumental, circa 1959. I can see the bobby soxers slow dancing with their letter-wearing boyfriends now.
  9. Go To Sleep (Little Man Being Erased) – Radiohead
    Radiohead kind of lost with Amnesiac / Kid A but, man, they came roaring back on Hail to the Thief. These guys remain the best current band I have never seen live.
  10. A Pillow of Winds – Pink Floyd
    Out of their entire impressive body of work, I believe this is the most beautiful song they ever wrote.
  11. Sleepyhead – Moke
    These guys only put out a few albums before they broke up in 2001, but the one to pick up is “Superdrag,” which has this one.
  12. Sleep to Dream – Fiona Apple
    Apple was only 19 when this was released so presumably she was even younger when she wrote it. It’s a remarkably mature song to come from such a young woman.
  13. Sleep on the Left Side – Cornershop
    “When I Was Born for the Seventh Time” has a bunch of fascinating, irresistible songs like this one and, sadly, some weird stuff that is hard to listen to. This one always makes me happy when it comes up.
  14. Sleep Comes Down – The Psychedelic Furs
    Not the typical sound you expect when you think about the Furs. It’s a cool track, though, that has aged really well.

Enjoy this with a Daylon’s Bedtime and get to bed. Have a great weekend.

December 3, 2010 - Posted by | Classic Rock, Country, Indie, Mix CD, Popular, Rock

2 Comments »

  1. Great mix. (I have most of these!)

    I listen to thunderstorms (on my ipod) & it lulls me to sleep. And I’m a big fan of Sleepytime tea. (Not sure if it helps, but it tastes good at the end of the day).

    I hope you get some sleep tonight.

    Leave me where I am, I’m only sleeping.

    Comment by Jenn | December 3, 2010 | Reply

  2. About an hour before bedtime, we started a nightly relaxation routine that includes reading, taking a bath, listening to music, as you have suggested, or anything else that can be considered soothing. Completing all exercises at least three hours before bedtime and not looking at screens before we go to sleep, which of course stimulates your brain. We implemented this for me, my wife and my children which has helped all of us and made all the difference in the world. It also helped with their concentration and school work. We even made sure to stay on these schedules during summer break and which has helped to make it a part of their everyday lives.

    Comment by Ron | November 3, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

