Missed Music

Music you didn’t know you needed…until now.

The Wednesday mix: Love Beats Hate

Someone organized a blogging event today called “Love Beats Hate.” I’m down. I wanted to blog about love today. Romantic love, brotherly love, family love. There is a lot of hate and fear in the world but though hate can win some devastating advances, I truly believe love triumphs.

"Sonny, true love is the greatest thing in the world. Except for a nice MLT: a mutton, lettuce, and tomato sandwich..."

I usually do a mix on Fridays, but in participation with this great event, here is a collection of songs about love and peace. I hope you enjoy them, but more than that I hope you are inspired to make more room in your heart for love, respect, tolerance, and peace.

  1. Love’s in Need of Love Today – Stevie Wonder
    Stevie is a spiritual and peace-minded musical genius who just wants to increase the peace. “Hate’s going round breaking every heart. Stop it, please, before it’s gone too far.”
  2. Give Me Love (Give Me Peace on Earth) – George Harrison
    And speaking of peace-minded musical geniuses…
  3. Better Way – Ben Harper
    Harper is a modern preacher of peace and love. He feels it, he believes it, and he makes you believe it too with this beautiful song.
  4. Any Love – Massive Attack
    Good old Massive Attack leaves behind the dark and ominous vibes they often lay on us for this upbeat pop song. “Any love that you feel is for real.”
  5. Peace – Los Lobos
    I am the biggest Los Lobos fan I know. This is from a kind of breakthrough album for them, “Kiko.” David Hidalgo is a great songwriter and he penned a great song here about bringing peace to the world through love.
  6. Border Song – Elton John
    Eric Clapton does a pretty cool, rollicking cover of this song, but John’s original version is gorgeous and more moving.
  7. Love in a Trashcan – The Ravonettes
    So this one is here mainly because it’s a great song. My point, though, is that the worst love you can think of is better than any hate at all.
  8. Message of Love – The Pretenders
    Chrissy Hynde lays it out for us. “And the reason we’re here as man and woman is to love each other, take care of each other.” Can I get an “amen?’”
  9. P.S. You Rock My World – Eels
    This is a beautiful love song all about living in the moment and living for love and if someone wrote this for you or even if they just dedicated it to you it’s a good, good thing.
  10. Funny How Love Is – Queen
    Some seriously vintage Queen, from their second album in 1974. Freddy sounds like he’s 12, but the harmony vocals and May’s buzzing Red Special are there. Listen to Deacon’s work on bass as well. It’s a little saccharin, but God help me, I like this song.
  11. Give Me Every Love You Got – Gravity Wave
    This is kind of oozy and a little strange, but I like the vibe and I love the lyrics. “Give me one of every love you got. Have you got the one with youthful courage, blowing off tomorrow’s test?”
  12. I’m Always in Love – Wilco
    Wilco has put out some amazing, deep, and textured albums, but I think my favorite remains the sunny “Summerteeth.” Here’s a typical uplifting pop song from the album.
  13. Crazy Love – Van Morrison
    When Van fell in love, he got it bad. This is as sweet and gentle a love song as you could ever ask for.
  14. Love Is Best – World Party
    This seems to be a sad and pretty song of loss, a cautionary tale by a man who has realized that love is the most important thing.

I didn’t put any John Lennon on here, but you could have picked any one of a half dozen songs. If there was ever a musician more dedicated to increasing love in the world, I don’t know who it would be. Anyway, enjoy this mix with a glass of milk and some cookies for dunking, because I love that.

November 18, 2010 - Posted by | Classic Rock, Mix CD, Popular, R&B, Rock

3 Comments »

  1. Excellent! Music is the best way to share the love.

    Comment by Jenn | November 18, 2010 | Reply

  2. Thank you for participating in Love Beats Hate! Music is a wonderful way to share love.

    Jeanne

    Comment by Jeanne | November 18, 2010 | Reply

  3. I missed the Princess Bride quote the first time. Nice!

    I was listening to Stevie all day. Seems he was born to sing about love. I really hope I get to hear him do his thing live one day. I am still sad I missed him at Bonnaroo.

    Comment by Jenn | November 18, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

