Missed Music

Music you didn’t know you needed…until now.

Rock solid new material from Stone Temple Pilots

Like many people, I loved Stone Temple Pilots back in the day, particularly their first two albums, “Core” and “Purple.” The band broke up after Dean DeLeo and Scott Weiland nearly got into a fistfight during the last show of their fall tour in 2002. The members went their separate ways and released 7 years worth of other projects before Weiland’s wife made a phone call that led to a reconciliation. The band recorded some songs and the DeLeo brothers produced it themselves (against Atalntic Records’ wishes) while on tour (which is why it took 10 months to mix), with a little help from a stellar musician/producer, Don Was.

Not fresh, but hot.

The result is a self-titled album that doesn’t really break any new ground for Stone Temple Pilots, or anyone else for that matter, but reminds you of why you liked STP so much. It is not a great leap forward, but it is a bold step back. I have to confess I didn’t really like their last album, “Shangri-La Dee Da” and only ripped one song from it. “Stone Temple Pilots,” however, has a bunch of cool songs. I don’t need hot, new groundbreaking work. I’m glad to hear them back in the saddle again.

Check out these 4.

  • Between the Lines – This was the single and it has a video. The video isn’t great, but the girl is. The song rocks and I like the lyrics.
  • Take a Load Off – This one sounds straight out of 1992 at the sunnier end of grunge.
  • Hazy Daze – The lick is hot and I love the buzzing guitar sound they use on this track. The vocal melody is cool and the harmonies at the chorus are great.
  • Peacoat – This has the crunching guitars and bright vocals you remember from their early days and they still do it well.

I realized that all the songs I picked were throwbacks. They did take some chances on the album, and if you want to hear some of the weirdness you should pick up the album. It reminds me of some of the weirder stuff Led Zeppelin did on some of their albums. Kind of cool to hear, but not something I need coming up on random on my iPod. Ultimately, these guys didn’t knock this comeback album out of the park, but they did stretch it into a slide-in double.

http://www.stonetemplepilots.com/

October 13, 2010 Posted by | Alternative, Hard Rock, Popular, Rock | Leave a comment