Missed Music

Music you didn’t know you needed…until now.

Spotty but occasionally brilliant indie rock from Love as Laughter

You know the best thing about the iPod era? You never have to listen to songs you don’t like. I remember suffering through some flat out bad songs on a CD because I loved other music on the release. You know one song I will never listen to again? Andy Summers’ hot mess, ‘Mother,’ off of the Police album “Synchronicity.” The downside, of course, is a lot of songs need to be listened to several times before you start to get them. A lot of songs I listen to don’t get 2nd chances and I almost never give a song a 3rd chance if it hasn’t grabbed me.

Maybe you don't HAVE to take the bad with the good.

Today, I’m recommending an album I cherry picked. I will say right off the bat that I did not like many of the songs on this album. At the same time, I found several of the songs to be engaging or even moving. The album I’m talking about is “Holy” by Love as Laughter. I found the Brooklyn, NY-based band’s release at the library and gave it a spin, having nothing to lose. I really like 3 songs off the album in particular, and you should give them a listen.

  • Crosseyed Beautiful Youngunz – This is my favorite song on the album. They construct a mellow vibe and amble around in it for nearly 5 minutes. It’s a pleasant melody and I’m glad they take their time with it.
  • All Parts of Me – Every time this comes on my iPod, I think for a minute that it might be Rusted Root but once it gets going it also has a kind of Talking Heads-ness to it and then I have to check who it is. Wow, this video is dreadful.
  • Peace – This rough-hewn bluesy song is powerful and heartfelt with a vocal performance that builds from matter-of-fact to wailing.

Interestingly, “Holy” is Love as Laughter’s 6th full-length release and I have read some reviews that expressed disappointment. Some reviewers seemed to feel the quality of this release fell off from earlier releases and that this was a step in a new direction. Perhaps I need to go back and listen to some of their earlier work. It might be more consistently good.

http://www.loveaslaughter.com/

September 29, 2010 - Posted by | Indie, Popular, Rock

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

