Missed Music

Music you didn’t know you needed…until now.

Well made acoustic folk-rock from The Story

I want to go back for an album I spent a lot of time listening to back in 1994. My wife turned me onto this album. We had just moved to Colorado and I can remember listening to this as we drove up into the mountains to go hiking. The album in question is “Angel in the House” by The Story. The Story was Jonatha Brooke and Jennifer Kimball. The pair only recorded 2 albums together and this was their second and final album. While both have continued making music since the band’s breakup in 1994, Brooke has gone on greater commercial success. I realized today that I never wrote up Brooke’s solo effort, “10 Cent Wings,” which is an oversight I will have to remedy soon. Today, though, I encourage you to listen to this great release.

That's The Story and I'm sticking to it.

The Story came out of an era when a lot of the original Lilith Fair performers were just coming up and they were compared to Suzanne Vega and Indigo Girls. I can see it a little, I suppose. They could be quirky like Vega and did a lot of harmonizing like Indigo Girls, but it seemed to me they had their own thing going on. I liked the music then and I still like to hear them come on in rotation. I think you will enjoy these.

  • So Much Mine – I like the acoustic arrangement in this song. The percussion is relaxed and the piano is delicate, but the vocal harmony line adds the most interest.
  • Missing Person Afternoon – A bossa nova beat backs a passionate pop song. Really great energy.
  • When Two and Two Are Five – I never knew there was a video for this song. Sadly, it’s not very good, but the song is great. Funny lyrics, great horn arrangements, and cool harmonies.
  • Mermaid – They picked a sunny acoustic melody for this metaphor for giving up your life for a man.

There are some other great songs on this album, like ‘Stillpoint,’ which features some great soprano saxophone, and ‘Fatso,’ which is the funniest song I have ever heard about an eating disorder. The entire album is well written, well arranged, and well produced. It’s definitely a product of the times, but I think the music holds up well.

http://www.jonathabrooke.com/

http://www.jenniferkimball.com/

September 13, 2010 - Posted by | Folk, Popular, Rock

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

