Missed Music

Music you didn’t know you needed…until now.

The Friday mix: Love in the Fall

It’s starting to feel like fall where I live. We’re getting comfortable days and just starting to see some color in the trees. I’m psyched. From here through Halloween, this is my favorite time of year. Alfred Lord Tennyson said, “In the spring a young man’s fancy turns to thoughts of love.” I always found fall to be a more romantic season. What could be lovelier than hiking in cool autumn air with the leaves looking like stained glass above you? The holidays loom ahead. It’s starting to get cool enough at night to build a fire. No. Fall is the season for love.

I wish this for everyone.

With that thought, I put together another mix of love songs, this one with more modern music. I hope you like it, particularly any readers who find themselves falling in love.

  • Think I’m In Love – Beck
    Beck is such a genius, especially when he writes honest songs about his life. Don’t get me wrong, I love his funky, fun songs, but stuff like this and songs from “Sea Change,” for example, are moving. This is what it’s like when you’re first falling. “I think I’m in love but it makes me kind of nervous to say so.”
  • Fresh Feeling – Eels
    E gives us a mellow and wholesome strings-laced groove about those first few weeks of love.
  • Satisfy – Me’Shell Ndegéocello
    When Ndegeocello is angry she writes emotionally charged, strident songs that can be jarring. When she is in love, though, she writes gorgeous ballads like this.
  • Hold You In My Arms – Ray LaMontagne
    One thing you know about Ray LaMontagne if you listen to his music: he loves his woman to pieces. He has an absolutely beautiful voice and this song almost hurts.
  • Sweet Thing – The Waterboys
    This is, in my opinion, the best cover anyone has ever done of a Van Morrison song. I might even like it better than the original, and that is saying something. The mandolin and strings are a perfect foil for the whining vocals. I have read that the ‘Blackbird’ homage at the end of this song was a studio ad lib. Wow.
  • Lovin’ In My Baby’s Eyes – Taj Mahal
    The versatile Taj Mahal gives us a mellow, bluesy love song. And it’s a little prettier than ‘Big Legged Mommas Are Back In Style.’
  • I’ll Make Love To You Anytime – J.J. Cale
    The man who wrote ‘After Midnight’ and ‘Cocaine’ for Eric Clapton performs his own music now (and occasionally collaborates with Clapton). This is a cool love song.
  • Into Your Arms – The Lemonheads
    I always liked Dando’s songwriting and especially his voice. This one takes me back to college, which may be why it speaks to me.
  • How Deep Is Your Love? – Jonatha Brooke
    Brooke is fantastic. I always thought she was going to break through and be huge. This is a funky groove with an oozy chorus and great, bending vocals.
  • Gift – Rocco DeLuca & The Burden
    OK, so I wrote this up just the other day. It is a beautiful love song and I really wanted to include it in this mix. This one is all about the great vocal melody and how it fits with the lyrics.
  • Passion – Dionne Farris
    And speaking of talented women who I always thought would break through and be huge… Give a listen to this great track. Her vocal performance is inspiring and the lyrics lay it right out there. You really can feel the passion.
  • Weight of the World – The Samples
    I honestly don’t know if anyone outside of the Denver/Boulder area is familiar with The Samples. I heard them a lot when I lived out there and I always thought this was a beautiful pop song.
  • Here In My Room – Incubus
    They didn’t coin the phrase “Love is verb” but I like they way they use it here with solid piano and wailing guitar.
  • The World Exploded Into Love – Bob Schneider
    I have followed Bob Schneider for his entire career, starting with Joe Rockhead almost 20 years ago. He continues to grow as a songwriter and a few years ago he came up with this gem. People are already covering it.
  • Joy Inside My Tears – Stevie Wonder
    Stevie has brought a lot of joy himself, but this one is to his wife, who brought him joy. Like most of the songs on “Songs in the Key of Life,” this one is laid out in the first few minutes, but goes on for several more minutes of fantastic riffing and soloing.
  • Transatlanticism – Death Cab For Cutie
    I couldn’t pick another song as a closer for this mix. Sometimes these guys lose me, but this love anthem is perfect. I like how he repeats “I need you so much closer” over and over again before the big layered vocals at the end demand “So come on! Come on!”

Enjoy this mix with a hot toddy. Have a great weekend.

September 10, 2010 - Posted by | Alt Country, Blues, Classic Rock, Mix CD, Popular, R&B, Rock

3 Comments »

  1. Fall is my favorite time of the year too. Thanks for the autumn mix. It is a beautiful time to fall in love.

    Comment by Jenn | September 12, 2010 | Reply

  2. (tongue firmly in cheek) Holy shit, are you already this far gone?

    I’m pretty sure you need to follow this mix with a “Hulk Smash” mix or something akin. Manism Dictates!

    Comment by ken | September 13, 2010 | Reply

    • Who said this mix was for anyone in particular? You are projecting, my friend. I will follow with some metal, though.

      Comment by MissedMusic | September 13, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

