Missed Music

Music you didn’t know you needed…until now.

The Friday mix: My very favorite hip hop

I made a mix of my favorite hip-hop for a special new friend and when it was done I realized I hadn’t recommended more than half of the songs on it to you. My hip-hop mix has some 300 songs on it and these represent just about the best I have ever found. I hope you enjoy them.

Honestly, it can't be THAT good.

  1. Pacifics – Digable Planets
    Rebirth of Slick (Cool Like Dat)” was the big hit off this album, but this is my favorite song off the Planets’ first release. It has their signature smooth bass line, tight production, and friendly flow.
  2. Vivrant Thing – Q-Tip
    Ex-Tribe Called Quest-er Q-Tip dropped this great love song on his 1999 release, “Amplified.” It’s a pretty simple song, but the guitar riff is so damn catchy I never get tired of hearing it.
  3. The World Is Yours – Nas
    From his classic release, “Illmatic,” this track has gorgeous lounge piano in the background and strong but simple percussion pushing his rhymes along.
  4. U – Arrested Development
    The first minute of this song is just one of the women in the band chanting “marriage” over and over, but this song truly begins at the 1 minute mark. There is some piano and busy percussion, but this song is all about Speech’s flow and the message of love he brings.
  5. Space Ho’s – Danger Doom
    This entire album was inspired by Cartoon Network’s Adult Swim programming. This one is about Space Ghost Coast to Coast. The topic is funny and the guest performances by the cast of SGCtC are funny, but neither are as hilarious as Doom’s rap.
  6. Cut Chemist Suite – Ozomatli
    Over the years, Ozomatli seems to have moved away from their rock/salsa/hip hop fusion roots and become more of a Hispanic rock band, which is cool, but it doesn’t touch the sheer hipness of this track. This is my favorite track off my favorite Ozomatli album.
  7. Blow – Miles Davis (featuring Easy Mo Bee)
    I have met a jazz snob who insists that everything Miles Davis did in the 80s and after was crap. Well, it wasn’t all “Kind of Blue,” but there was some very cool work. This is from his last album on which he fused jazz and hip hop. It rocks.
  8. The Rain (Supa Dupa Fly) – Missy Elliott
    If there is anyone in the world cooler than Missy Elliott, please let me know who it is. I could have picked any one of 20 Misdemeanor songs on my iPod, but I do love this one.
  9. Angels Sing – Pras/Wyclef Jean
    Pras got back together with Wyclef for this one. It’s got a reggae sound and heavy lyrics. “Why should I fear a man who got a pistol in his hand. You cry. I cry. Every man want heaven. No man want to die.”
  10. Forever Begins – Common
    I’ll be honest. I used some editing software to fade this song out before his dad starts speaking at the end. The first 5 minutes of this song is absolute genius, though. The drum beat is great, the vocal sample is inspiring, the piano is fantastic. This is probably the best song on this mix, which, on a mix of my favorite hip-hop, might make it my very favorite hip-hop song.
  11. I’ll Be There For You/You’re All I Need To Get By (Puff Daddy Mix) – Mary J. Blige Feat. Method Man
    Another great use of the old Marvin Gaye/Tammi Terrell tune. I’m not usually a big Method Man fan, but this track is great. Blige singing behind Method’s flow is a good pairing.
  12. 13th Floor/Growing Old – Outkast
    I guess I’m a sucker for soulful piano backing a rap tune. Quiet backing vocals and a little scratching make up the rest of the song. It’s a mellow groove.
  13. Beggin’ – Madcon
    Wow, these guys are cheesy as hell, but they’ve really got it going on in this song. It’s a really danceable track. Give it a chance.
  14. Has It Come To This? – The Streets
    Cockney rapper Mike Skinner is amazing. I highly recommend you check out his concept album “A Grand Don’t Come for Free.” This song is off of “Original Pirate Material,” but it gives you a good feel for how he rolls.

Enjoy this mix with some Cristal. Or, if you’re like me and would never spend that much money on something so frivolous, just pick up a nice prosecco. Have a great weekend!

August 27, 2010 - Posted by | Hip Hop, Mix CD

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

