Missed Music

Music you didn’t know you needed…until now.

Oh yeah. Now I remember. Lush indie pop from The Annuals.

I listen to a lot of music and I constantly find stuff I like. Every now and then I forget to go look for more music by an artist I enjoy. Back in March of ’09, I wrote up a good review of The Annuals album, “Be He, Me.”  The 6-piece out of South Carolina has a big sound, which you can do with 6 musicians, and front man Adam Baker finds catchy hooks for ear-grabbing lyrics. So as much as I enjoyed “Be He Me,” you might think I would have picked up more of their 8 other releases by now. Nope. It wasn’t until I stumbled upon another release, 2008’s “Such Fun” that I listened to another album. Once again, they hit me just right.

Geez. Stupid brain.

“Such Fun” is bigger and more polished than “Be He Me.” The songs come from the same vibe, but producer Jacquire King likes big percussion and bright, trebly keyboards. “Such Fun” reminds me a lot of “Be He Me,” only more so. Once again, I found 4 winners on the release. Give these a listen.

  • Confessor – This is the first track on the album and the single. The song is straightforward but energetic and catchy. A lot of Annuals videos are cartoons. This one is a cool series of stills that tell a fantasy story of innocence, evil through misguided good, and redemption through love.
  • Hot Night Hounds – A pensive minor key piano intro gives way to busy percussion and fat and happy harmony vocals. The keyboards running around in 16th notes reminds me of Bruce Hornsby. Eventually, crunching guitars jump all over the groove and build to a mid-song climax before they break it down and start it over.
  • Down the Mountain – Most crossover country starts in country and adds elements of pop. This one starts in pop and adds a few elements of country. The song is joyful and sparkles with a good arrangement and strong production.
  • Hair Don’t Grow – The relatively simple core of this slower song is dressed to the nines with stomping percussion, broad vocal harmonies, and lots of guitar and keyboard.

OK. Now I’ve rediscovered them. I’m going back through the catalog to see what they’ve been up to all these years. Of course, I’ll keep you posted.

http://www.annualsmusic.com/

August 16, 2010 - Posted by | Indie, Popular, Rock

1 Comment »

  1. What a lovely blog you have & many thanks for stopping by over at mine! Very Nice for me….thanks for share

    Comment by New Mp3 | Mp3 Downloads | August 18, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

