Missed Music

Music you didn’t know you needed…until now.

Sick instrumental afro-soul from The Budos Band

A friend sent me a text the other day that said simply, “Check out Budos Band.” This friend, Dave, likes bluegrass and roots music a whole lot more than I do, but he knows where my tastes run and when he tells me to check something out, it is usually worth my time. I picked up “The Budos Band II.”

Kudos to the Budos.

I hadn’t read anything about the band, but I was expecting something in the jam band space, given that Dave wouldn’t recommend bluegrass to me but he does like The Dead, Black Crowes, Phish, etc. as much as anyone I know. I was not expecting what I got. The Budos Band plays instrumental funk with American roots (they are from Staten Island, NY) but influenced by east African music (Ethiopian). They remind me a lot of The Daktaris, another New York based instrumental funk group I included in my write-up of some soul revival music.

The band has eleven members and occasionally as many as 13, apparently. They play guitar, organ, several flavors of percussion and lots and lots of horns. And these guys blow hard. The sound is big and the beats are late 60s funky. The melodies can be complex, or at least long, and the soloing is right in the pocket. A dozen guys can make a lot of sound and they all seem to be very talented individually. I ripped 5 of the disc’s 10 tracks. Check these out.

  • Ride or Die – Buzzing keyboards, and clean, spare guitar set the backdrop for a broad horns melody. Watch out for the outstanding baritone sax solo about 2 1/2 minutes in
  • Mas O Menos – The percussion and guitar a busier in this track and once the main line has been laid down, the trumpet and baritone sax take turns getting nasty with the groove.
  • Adeniji – Budos brings the energy down a bit for this one, but it still gives me happy feet. I like a flute solo and this song is a perfect place for it.
  • King Cobra – They take the energy down another notch for this one with percussion that would be at home on a Carlos Santana album and a horns melody that could be late-Connery era bond music.
  • Origin of Man – The chord progression has a Middle Eastern feel to it and the guitar and keyboards have an oozy feel.

The Budos Band put out an album before and since this one. I plan on picking them up. I will be interested to see where they came from on their first album and where they are headed now.

http://thebudos.com/

May 24, 2010 - Posted by | Jazz, Soul

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

