Missed Music

Music you didn’t know you needed…until now.

The Friday mix (a day early): more music to share with your kids

I’m posting the Friday mix a day early this week because I know I won’t get a chance to post tomorrow.

A little over a year ago, I wrote a post about music that I share with my daughter. I’ve had a couple comments lately from readers who appreciated the topic so I wanted to return to it today.

I have a mix on my iPod with my daughter’s name on it that has a few hundred songs. Sometimes when we get in the car or at home she asks if we can listen to her mix. It’s never a problem because there is none of the thin crap aimed directly at kids on it, or very little anyway.

Is that Freedom Rock? Well, turn it up, Dad.

As I encounter new music, I often notice a song that I think she might like and I throw it on her mix. She decides later whether it stays or goes. When we’re listening to any of my other mixes, she occasionally hears a song she likes and asks me to put it on her mix, which is great. She also comes to me sometimes with titles she has heard elsewhere and asks me to go find them to include in her collection, which is fantastic. I have actually found some cool music because of her.

She is developing her own tastes in music and as a parent I am compelled to brag that she has a pretty sophisticated ear. Here are some more songs that we both enjoy. I noticed after I picked these out today that there is a lot of classic rock in this mix. Well, it’s all new to her.

  1. Blue Sky – The Allman Brothers
    “Don’t fly Mr. Bluebird, I’m just walking down the road.” Universal lyrics and joyful guitar.
  2. Hoodoo Voodoo – Billy Bragg & Wilco
    Honky Tonk music provided by Wilco and Bragg with lyrics by Woody Guthrie. It’s as good as you think.
  3. More Than a Feeling – Boston
    There’s a reason classic rock songs are classic.
  4. Everything’s Not Lost – Coldplay
    You can never be too young to appreciate this truly beautiful song.
  5. Kooks – David Bowie
    A parent invites his kid to stay in “our lover’s story” and gives her advice, promises, and a beautiful song.
  6. Lucky Man – Emerson Lake and Palmer
    It’s a little sad, and the prog rock keyboard solo at the end is weird, but my kid seems to like this one as much as I did.
  7. Just Happy to Be Me – The Fugees
    From the brilliant ‘Songs from the Street’ collection of performances on Sesame Street. “Now Snuffy and Big Bird are havin’ a good time. They’re walking and gawking, trying to talk to a mime. In the square where they just seen it all, but they never seen a yellow bird 7 feet tall.” Lauryn Hill is a genius.
  8. Carrie-Anne – The Hollies
    My daughter likes a lot of old music, including simple poppy songs like this one from the 60’s.
  9. I’m Yours – Jason Mraz
    I’m luke-warm on this one but I can tell you my daughter absolutely loves this track.
  10. Hey Hippopotamus – Justin Roberts
    Roberts does music for very young kids. Not any older than kindergarten. Nevertheless, this isn’t just on my daughter’s mix, it’s in my main rotation as well. I love this song.
  11. Neopolitan Dreams – Lisa Mitchell
    The glockenspiel is a perfect accompaniment to the simplicity of the playful melody.
  12. Blinded by the Light – Manfred Mann’s Earth Band
    I was my daughter’s age when this song hit the radio and she likes it as much as I did.
  13. Nine in the Afternoon – Panic! At the Disco
    They pound out a strong chord progression on the piano, the melody is pleasing, and the beats they occasionally drop keeps the song a little surprising.
  14. Solisbury Hill – Peter Gabriel
    Does anyone NOT like this song?
  15. In Only Seven Days – Queen
    My daughter has requested I put all my Queen on her mix, which I did (except for ‘Get Down Make Love’). She’s a big fan. This is a pretty but sad song about falling in love on vacation. The story is easy to follow and the emotions are accessible even to kids.
  16. The Only Living Boy in New York – Simon and Garfunkel
    A beautiful song about loneliness. The harmonies between verses are gorgeous.
  17. Hodja – Todd Rundgren
    In addition to being a fantastic song about a kid asking an old man to teach him a dance move, this song is completely a capella, which leads to a fun discussion. Amazon has this track mislabeled. It says ‘Pretending to Care,’ but the sample really is ‘Hodja.’
  18. Big Bad Bill (Is Sweet William Now) – Van Halen
    This was written in 1924, but I like Van Halen’s 1982 version with ripping clarinet and David Lee Roth doing his best Satchmo imitation.

Don’t give in to the marketing machine that wants to sell your kids cheaply produced, derivative crap. Feed them a healthy diet of quality music. Good for them. Good for you. Enjoy with some apple juice. That’s good for you too. Have a great weekend.

April 29, 2010 - Posted by | Alternative, Children, Classic Rock, Hip Hop, Jam Bands, Mix CD, Popular, Rock

3 Comments »

  1. Thanks (to you & your daughter) for sharing her faves! I absolutely love that she asks you to add new songs to her mix. Some of these I already love & some will be new to me.

    My son is a big fan of Queen too.

    Take that, the Wiggles.

    Comment by Jenn | April 29, 2010 | Reply

  2. Heh heh. There are a lot of these that people know but may not have thought of pushing to their kids. I’m really glad you enjoy the topic. Thanks.

    Comment by missedmusic | April 29, 2010 | Reply

  3. I just randomly stumbled upon one of my son’s old mixes. It was in the wrong case though, so I’m gonna have to listen to it to remember the songs.

    Comment by Jenn | April 30, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

