Missed Music

Music you didn’t know you needed…until now.

The Friday mix: more of my favorite female artists

Well, when I started this mix today, I thought this might be the final installment of female artists. I hadn’t realized how many artists I have that start with the letter S. Give a listen to these and, as always, let me know if there is someone you feel I grievously missed.

  1. Shelby Lynne – Your Lies
    This isn’t my favorite song by Lynne, but it’s the single from her great album, “I Am Shelby Lynne.” She has kind of a bluesy crossover country thing going on that is great.
  2. Sheryl Crow – Riverwide
    Crow is known for a lot of fun, rocking songs, but she is also deep enough to drop a beautiful, heartrending song like this one. I love her versatility as a singer and a songwriter.
  3. Shirley Horn – Return to Paradise (Mark De Clive-Lowe Remix)
    I actually saw Shirley Horn in Manhattan a few years before her death. She was always an amazing jazz pianist and singer and she still put on an enjoyable show. This one is actually from the great series of Verve Remixed tracks where people mine the fantastic catalog of old Verve recordings and turn them into club tracks by updating the percussion and production.
  4. Sia Furler– Death By Chololate
    Sia sings some of my favorite Zero 7 songs, but she is an accomplished solo artist who has collaborated with top acts and won awards. This video gets you a good listen to her voice, a good look at her face, and a good feel for her style.
  5. Siouxsie and the Banshees – Kiss Them for Me
    OK, so she isn’t one of my favorite artists. I saw them at the first Lollapalooza in 1991 and they weren’t very good live. I’m not crazy about a lot of their other music either, but this one song has been in rotation in mixes and my iPod for nearly 20 years.
  6. Sneaker Pimps – 6 Underground (Nellee Hooper Remix)
    I have several Sneaker Pimps tracks on my iPod, but this one is far and away my favorite. It is a remix by Nellee Hooper (formerly of the Wild Bunch, that would eventually become Massive Attack). That takes nothing away from the Pimps, who have had varying levels of success over the years. Kelli Dayton’s vocal performance on this track is right in the pocket, which is probably why it has been remixed by so many producers).
  7. Put a Lid on It – Squirrel Nut Zippers
    Yes, the Squirrel Nut Zippers. I have 4 albums by the Zippers and there is a lot of fun music on them all. Katharine Whalen and Jimbo Matthis split duties at lead vocals and both sing songs I love. This one is probably my favorite sung by Whalen, or at least my favorite up-tempo piece of hers.
  8. Stacey Kent – So Nice
    Kent sings mostly songs from the American songbook. Her orchestra plays a pretty standard torchy nightclub sound, but she has a beautifully expressive, liquid voice. This one is gorgeous.
  9. Stevie Nicks – Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around
    She has to at least get a mention. I’ve been listening to Stevie Nicks my whole life. I don’t have a ton of Fleetwood Mac on my iPod because I grew up listening to classic rock radio, so I’ve heard a dozen or so songs hundreds of times. I always liked this one, and my daughter has just turned on to Tom Petty so it lives on her mix now.
  10. The Story – When Two and Two Are Five
    My wife turned me onto The Story. Jonatha Brooke eventually left the band and went on to put out a bunch of great music as a solo artist, but their 1993 release, “Angel in the House” has a lot of great music on it, including this one.
  11. The Sundays – Here’s Where the Story Ends
    Harriet Wheeler has one of my very favorite voices of all time. It’s so pretty and sweet and the melodies she chooses make the lyrics even more moving. “Static and Silence” is a desert island disc for me, though this one is off Reading, Writing And Arithmetic.
  12. Suzanne Vega – Rock in this Pocket (Song of David)
    Vega has a fine voice, but what has always drawn me to her music is the instrumentation and particularly the percussion. This one has a great feel, but I also love ‘As a Child,’ ‘99.9f,’ and a host of others.

Well, that was quite a crop just in the Ses. There might be enough in my collection for one more mix of great female artists. I hope you enjoy these. Have a great weekend.

April 16, 2010 - Posted by | Alt Country, Classic Rock, Electronica, Jazz, Lounge, Popular, Rock

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

