Missed Music

Music you didn’t know you needed…until now.

Updates on a couple of old posts: Incubus and Bleeding Heart Narrative

Several times over the last few weeks, I have found some great music by artists who already had other albums out. I promised to look into their catalog and get back to you. Today, I’m going to do just that.

Just clearing out some old business.

The first is Bleeding Heart Narrative. I reviewed “Tongue Tangled Hair”  for AltSounds and was really impressed by the mature, experimental production wrapped around solid pop songsmithing. I saw that the artist, Oliver Barret, had another disc out called “Lung Mangled Bear” so I wanted to check out the music. I wasn’t sure what the naming convention portended, but I should have guessed that the two projects were closely related. “Lung Mangled Bear” contains some alternate takes on some songs from “Tongue Tangled Hair” and some of what appear to be toddling versions of song that were still under development. It’s also loaded with some more experimental stuff that would be right at home in the new age or electronica section of your local record store.

You can download the entire album free here, straight from the label’s website. If you do so, make sure you check out these tracks.

  • A Dialogue (Brassica’s Dark Side of the Live Aid remix) – A solid beat and ethereal backing vocals carry this song through the first minute and a half before the actual pop tune begins.
  • At The End Of It All (DJ Floorclearer remix) – This is chillout music. Not danceable at all, but very soothing and interesting.
  • Tongue Tangled Hair (The Exploits of Elaine remix) – Muddy percussion stomps on backwards tracked vocals and ringing synthesizers. I can’t articulate why I like this weird track.

When I put together a mix of Incubus two weeks ago, I confessed I didn’t have their first two albums, but that I had ordered them. I got them and spun them and the result were mixed. It turns out in their early days, Incubus sounded like a cross between The Red Hot Chili Peppers and Faith No More, with maybe a dash of Soul Coughing thrown in, but not as good as that combination sounds. I listened to “Fungus Amongus” and must sadly report that I didn’t rip a single track. I’m sure it would have been a great live show, but the energy loses something the way it was recorded. On the other hand, “S.C.I.E.N.C.E.” was worth a spin. They had nearly finished metamorphosing into the band I love by this time. I ripped these 4 tracks

  • Redefine – A raucous punk/metal tune with slapped bass, crazy turntablism, and melodic wailing vocals.
  • Idiot Box – This one has some anger in the lyrics and a hammering chorus but it isn’t as chaotic as ‘Redefine.’
  • Favorite Things – “The things that make you mad are my favorite things.” Nice to know you. Goodbye, right? The band plays their asses off behind another of Boyd’s songs about a bad relationship.
  • Summer Romance (Anti-Gravity Love Song) – Compared with the rest of this album, the band really lays back on this song, but the scratchy mix, clean electric guitar, and flute make a perfect backdrop for this love song.

I absolutely flipped for The Decembrists’ album, “The Hazards of Love”  and vowed to check out the rest of their catalog. 2 down, 2 to go. I’ll do a full write up on them once I’ve gotten the other two.

April 12, 2010 - Posted by | Alternative, Chillout, Electronica, Hard Rock, Popular

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

