Missed Music

Music you didn’t know you needed…until now.

The Friday mix: metal and hard rock to kick in your weekend

I fell asleep at 9:30 last night and slept on top of the covers with the light on until 3:30 AM. I got up to check locks and hit the bathroom and slept straight through until my alarm went off at 6:00. I usually get 5 or 6 hours of sleep a night so this was a crazy amount of sleep for me. I feel like a million bucks. Maybe I should look a little more into this sleep thing.

Wake Up!

Anyway, I have a ton of energy today and just got back from the gym where I was listening to some hard rock and metal on the headphones. It hit me so well I wanted to share some of it with all of you today. Check these out.

  1. Will You Smile Again for Me – …And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead
    Aaaaaand here’s a punch in the mouth to start us off. The blistering 5/4 intro lasts the first minute and a half before the songs subsides into an ominous ooze reminiscent of Pink Floyd (with Roger Waters).
  2. The Northern – Alexisonfire
    It starts off sounding like a post-grunge pop song, but continues to get harder and harder throughout. The video’s a little goofy and I’m not sure what ideas they’re trying to convey with it, but the song is fabulous.
  3. Stripped Away – Ashes Divide
    This isn’t quite metal, though it has some of the elements. Still, I’ll give it the nod because Ashes Divide is the new project of A Perfect Cirlce founder Billy Howerdel. The grinding guitar, dark chord progression, and complex rhythm makes this one rock.
  4. Exospacial Psionic Aura – Behold… The Arctopus
    So here’s one for you math rock aficionados. Did you ever meet someone who was so smart you really couldn’t relate to them? That’s kind of what listening to these guys is like. This stuff is 60% sick technique, 30% adrenaline, and 14% Will Hunting with an abacus. It sounds chaotic, but listen to how tight the band is. Every measure and note is counted and structured.
  5. Best Intentions – Car Bomb
    Car Bomb does some pretty intense, screamy metal. This isn’t usually my thing, but there’s something about the complexity of the song that I like and the use of the gentle bridge in the middle is creative. I think it brings us back a bit from the last track.
  6. Cypress Grove – Clutch
    Neil Fallon has such a great rock n’ roll voice. I love Clutch’s smart, funny lyrics too. They always have something interesting to talk about. This track rocks.
  7. No World for Tomorrow – Coheed & Cambria
    I wasn’t entirely sold on Coheed & Cambria until I saw them live. Interestingly, the guy who posted this on YouTube hates the video that was paired with this. I kind of like it, though. It reminds me of Æon Flux: it’s cool to watch, but I don’t understand what the hell happened.
  8. Beware (the Water) – The Deftones
    I love the oozy verses punctuated by the towering choruses. The video is done by some students. It’s a little goofy, but more interesting to watch than a still of the album cover.
  9. When Acting as a Wave – Dillinger Escape Plan
    Just a minute and a half long, but what a punishing 90 seconds. I’ve listened to this one many times, but I still can’t quite count it with them. It reminds me a bit of the intro to YYZ by Rush.
  10. Pigs Is Pigs – Every Time I Die
    I thought I had recommended this song once already, but my spreadsheet says I wrote up ‘Rendez-Voodoo.’ This one is fantastic and has some extremely dark lyrics like, “It gets so hard going limp in your arms,” and “ You know I’m no good at court ordered goodbyes.”
  11. Repeater – Fugazi
    My wife turned me onto “Repeater,” the 1990 release from the Washington D.C. punk / funk band Fugazi. It’s not exactly metal, but then it’s raw, it’s real, and it rocks.
  12. Ten Ton Brick – Hurt
    I have to say I’m not entirely sure about these guys. This is the only song of theirs I have on my iPod but I do like this one quite a bit. It has all the trappings of metal, but the core of this track is a pop song.
  13. Underachievers – Junkie XL
    I like these guys’ sound, with a full band plus 2 DJs. Sadly, this clip only gives you the intro and the first few seconds once the song really gets going. You can also check out this live version, but the song doesn’t start until 2 minutes in.
  14. The Tide – Neurosis
    There is only so much Neurosis I can do in one sitting, but this song is utterly brilliant. The opening is slow and dark, complete with mournful cello, but then the band comes in and just demolishes the space with a wrecking ball.
  15. You Know What You Are? – Nine Inch Nails
    Cleveland native Trent Reznor hasn’t lost a step since “Pretty Hate Machine” and is still cranking out heavy industrial rock. This one is from his great 2005 release, “With Teeth,” which I am going to write up soon.

I feel better. Enjoy this with a birch (vodka and Red Bull) or whatever gets you going. Have a good weekend.

March 13, 2010 - Posted by | Hard Rock, Metal, Rock

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

