Missed Music

Music you didn’t know you needed…until now.

The Friday mix: Another crop of my favorite women in music

This week I’m putting out my 7th installment of music by my favorite female artists. I’m posting this one late because my very favorite female artist didn’t have school today and we were out having fun so I didn’t get started until after bedtime. I hope you enjoy them.

beedlah beedlah beedlah weeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

  1. Patti Page – Old Cape Cod
    Honestly, if she never did anything but this, she would already be one of my favorites. I love the harmonies in this song. Nice footage on this particular video, too. I’ve never been to Cape Cod.
  2. Patti Smith – Redondo Beach
    Patti Smith has always been kind of hit or miss with me. She does some stuff that doesn’t reach me at all, but then some songs like this one are great. I like the reggae feel.
  3. Paula Cole – Feelin’ Love
    Paula has such a pretty voice and she often writes pretty songs, like ‘I Don’t Want to Wait.’ This one is my favorite, though. The heavy percussion and her sugary high voice make this one feel dirty even if you don’t listen to the lyrics.
  4. PJ Harvey – Good Fortune
    PJ Harvey is so cool. I know I have recommended this song before, but it was a while ago and it is my favorite from her off of “Stories From The City, Stories From The Sea.”
  5. The Pointer Sisters – Pinball Number Count
    So I remember hearing ‘He’s So Shy,’ ‘Jump (For My Love),’ ‘Neutron Dance,’ and ‘I’m So Excited’ on the radio and I never liked them. When I grew up, though, I discovered that the fantastic song that accompanied the pinball video on Sesame Street was by The Pointer Sisters and I totally fell out. Who knew they could get this funky?
  6. The Pretenders – Boots of Chinese Plastic
    Chrissy Hynde might possibly be the coolest woman who ever lived. Perhaps I’m biased because she comes from my hometown of Cuyahoga Falls, OH. I wore the grooves off my copy of “Learning to Crawl” and their earlier album sparkle with great rock songs. The best part is she hasn’t lost a step. Check out this cool rocker from The Pretenders’ 2008 release, “Break Up the Concrete.”
  7. The Puppini Sisters – Walk Like an Egyptian
    They’re not sisters, but they sound like they’ve been singing together since childhood. They’re the second coming of the Andrews Sisters but they have a cooler song selection. If you haven’t heard this, you will love it, even if you didn’t like the original. They also do a great ‘Old Cape Cod,’ actually.
  8. The Raveonettes – Love in a Trashcan
    Sharin Foo is half of Danish alt rock duo The Raveonettes (along with Sune Rose Wagner). Their throwback sound is Everly Brothers meets Jesus and Mary Chain. This is my favorite song of theirs and always goes over in a crowded room.
  9. Regina Spektor – Better
    What can I say? Most of her music isn’t deep. It isn’t challenging. But it’s just such damned appealing pop I really like it. She has a nice voice and writes some good melodies. Check out this one if you aren’t familiar.
  10. Rickie Lee Jones – A Second Chance
    Rickie Lee was cool as hell back in the day. She fell off the charts a long time ago, but she has continued making great music. This one is from her 2003 release “The Evening of My Best Day” and it has the same appealing simplicity and great instrumentation you always liked from her.
  11. Rosey – The Time
    To be honest, I don’t know a thing about her except that (in this song at least) her grandma gives her good advice. I’ve got a handful of her songs, though, and wanted to share this one.
  12. Sam Phillips – One Day Late
    I have recommended this one before, too, but it is a great song. Feel free to peruse the other linked songs on YouTube if you follow it out. You won’t be disappointed.
  13. Sarah Harmer – Almost
    People rave about Harmer’s shows. Apparently, she is riveting to watch. I like the songs she writes, too. When she first came on the scene, I thought she was going to be huge. In fairness, she’s got two gold records and one platinum so I guess that is pretty damn big. I thought she was going to be Sheryl Crow big, though, because she’s hot and smart-looking and writes great music.
  14. Sharon Jones & the Dap Kings – I’m Not Gonna Cry
    God, I love Sharon Jones. She sings some fantastic soul / funk and the Kings are out of sight. Go listen to this one. I’m honestly not sure which I enjoy more, Jones’ soulful vocal performance or the band’s funky throwdown. Great stuff.

I think I’m just arbitrarily going to stop here in the middle of the S’s and save a few for one more installment. Enjoy with a mimosa, but use vodka instead of champagne and hold the orange juice. Have a good weekend.

March 6, 2010 - Posted by | Alternative, Blues, Classic Rock, Indie, Mix CD, Popular, punk, R&B, Rock, Soul

2 Comments »

  1. Just saw Sharon Jones and the Dap Kings on Colbert. What a gem, and she would be perfect for Bonnaroo. (crossing fingers for a late addition)

    Comment by susie | April 30, 2010 | Reply

  2. They’ve been at it for a long time, but her following continues to grow. A lot of artists like her do the same brilliant thing for 20 years sometimes before they get noticed. I agree, she WOULD be perfect for Bonnaroo. Here’s hoping…

    Comment by missedmusic | May 7, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

