Missed Music

Music you didn’t know you needed…until now.

The Friday mix: artists you know and love; songs you might not know and will love

I was playing poker at a friend’s house this week and an obscure Pink Floyd song came on my iPod. He commented that it was probably his very favorite song and another guy at the table (a relative youngster) confessed he didn’t know it. It gave me the idea to put together a mix of classic rock band b-sides. You might argue with my calling some of these bands classic rock and you might also argue with my calling some of these songs obscure. Nevertheless, my goal here has been to put together a collection of songs you might never have heard by old and popular artists whom you have certainly heard.

  1. Adam Ant – Antmusic
    I wasn’t a fan of Adam Ant back in the day. To be fair, ‘Goody Two Shoes’ was perhaps the only song I had ever heard by them. But then a few years ago I heard this song (and ‘Dog Eat Dog’) and totally fell out. This is a cool song.
  2. Aphrodite’s Child – Take Your Time
    So do you remember Vangelis? The ‘Chariots of Fire’ guy? Well, before he was a new age composer, he was a keyboardist in a progressive rock band in the 60s. This is a friendly little folk rocker that I was glad to stumble across.
  3. So maybe April Wine won't make the Rock Hall, but you get the idea.

    April Wine – Crash and Burn
    I suppose this album didn’t really age well with the definite exception of this song. It’s clearly a product of the times but in my opinion it still rocks.

  4. The Band – Chest Fever
    The keyboard intro sounds like Deep Purple, but then it reminds me of The Allman Brothers’ ‘Dreams’ once it gets going. Great song.
  5. Black Crowes – Thorn in my Pride
    They’ve been around for 20 years. They count as classic rock, right? This one is off of “The Southern Harmony and Musical Companion” and is my favorite track off that album.
  6. Blues Traveler – Defense & Desire
    Blues Traveler came out the same year as the Crowes so I’m counting them. None of my friends like “Save His Soul” as much as I do but it’s my favorite of theirs, in part because it has this great rocker.
  7. Bob Mould – Again and Again
    Hüsker Dü put out 7 albums in 5 years in the mid 80s. Mould has continued making great music. Listen to the heartbreakingly honest lyrics of this beautiful song as Mould performs it on The Henry Rollins Show.
  8. Bruce Hornsby – Sticks & Stones
    I’ve written about Hornsby before. Love him. He just put out another album with more great music on it.
  9. Cream – As You Said
    This sounds like something off of Led Zeppelin 3. I can’t ever remember hearing this on the radio and it’s not that radio-friendly, I suppose, but I like it.
  10. David Bowie – Unwashed And Somewhat Slightly Dazed
    Old, old school Bowie from 1969. Once the intro is over this song absolutely rocks out around an irresistible guitar hook.
  11. Devo – Snowball
    This is my favorite song from their great album, “Freedom of Choice.” Sadly, the studio version isn’t on YouTube. Here is a vintage live performance. It takes 15 seconds for the video to come together and it’s quiet even then, but it’s cool to see these guys back in the day.
  12. ELO – Mission  (A World Record)
    Jeff Lynne was about a decade ahead of everyone else in terms of production. Listen to how great this 1976 songs sounds even now. The lyrics really intrigued me as a little kid and I still like it, melodramatic or not.
  13. Elton John – Where to Now St. Peter?
    This is from “Tumbleweed Connection” in 1970. It never made a greatest hits, but it’s one of those great melodies that John seemed to toss off so effortlessly.
  14. Elvis Costello – Uncomplicated
    “Blood and Chocolate” was the first Elvis Costello album I ever heard, which is probably why it is still my favorite. I always reach for the volume knob and give it a bit more pressure whenever this comes on in the car.
  15. Pink Floyd – Fearless
    Well, this isn’t my very favorite song, but it IS my favorite Floyd tune.

This is not an exhaustive list and I will return to the topic in the future. Enjoy with some scotch that is at least 20 years old. Have a great weekend.

January 22, 2010 - Posted by | Classic Rock, Mix CD, Popular, Rock

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

