Missed Music

Music you didn’t know you needed…until now.

Simple but cool big beat music from Brighton Port Authority (nee Fatboy Slim)

Back in August when I wrote up Fatboy Slim, I mentioned that he also performs under the name Brighton Port Authority, though I hadn’t heard any of this work under that name. I picked up a disc at the library called “I Think We’re Gonna Need A Bigger Boat” by the BPA but didn’t realize at the time what that stood for. Turns out it’s the newest release from the Brighton Port Authority, a.k.a. Fatboy Slim, a.k.a. Norman Quentin Cook, who was born Quentin Leo Cook.

You can run, but you can't hide, Quentin.

If you’re not familiar with BPA’s MO, he is a British DJ, producer, and general big beat artist who likes to work with a variety of vocalists and instrumentalists using his own production, sampling, and looping skills to make the songs hot. On, “I Think We’re Gonna Need A Bigger Boat,” he works with a different vocalist on every track, including big names like Iggy Pop, David Byrne, Martha Wainwright, and Dizzee Rascal.

Once I realized who BPA was, I was excited about the names of the various collaborators. Sadly, I was disappointed by the Iggy Pop tune and the David Byrne tune. In fact, a lot of it didn’t grab me, unfortunately. There were, however, 4 winners on the disc and you might want to look at picking up the individual tracks.

  • So It Goes (featuring Olly Hite) – A little electric piano and some sweet harmony vocals set up a stripped down R&Bish version of this old Nick Lowe song.
  • Superlover (featuring Cagedbaby) – This is a pretty melody that Cagedbaby (Tom Gandey) sings sweetly. Like ‘So It Goes,’ the song is simple, but really appealing.
  • Spade (featuring Martha Wainwright – Martha is the daughter of Loudin Wainwright and sister of Rufus. No shortage of musical talent in that family. This reggae vibe is beautifully sung and interestingly produced. It might be my favorite on the disc.
  • Should I Stay or Should I Blow (featuring Ashley Beedle) – Another simple, but this time highly danceable track. My daughter just commented that she loves this song so I added it to her mix.

Whatever he calls himself tomorrow, BPA has a great knack for picking songs and wrapping cool arrangements around them.

December 21, 2009 - Posted by | Alternative, Chillout, Electronica, Popular, R&B

2 Comments »

  1. Thanks so much for this. There is so much good music being made in the world, I sometimes wonder how I’m gonna keep up with it all. You’re making my life a helluva lot easier.

    Cheers,

    YourZ

    Comment by YourZ | January 3, 2010 | Reply

  2. Hey, I get a kick out of people finding new music because I recommended it so thanks for reading.

    Comment by missedmusic | January 9, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

