Missed Music

Music you didn’t know you needed…until now.

The Friday mix: Women are back

So a couple of weeks ago I decided to pull together a collection of my favorite female musicians. I only got as far as the letter B before I had enough for a mix, so I decided to continue it later. Today is later. I only needed two more letters today. I have made no effort at sequencing this because it ranges around too much to be a cohesive mix. Still, I hope you give them a listen, particularly if you’ve never heard of one before.

It's a beautiful thing.

It's a beautiful thing.

  1. Camille – Au Port
    Camille is a French artist who uses lots of organic percussion (handclaps, mouth noises, etc.) and minimal instrumentation and writes pretty melodies. Watch her perform this version live. Fantastic. Weird, but fantastic.
  2. The Cardigans – It’s War
    You may remember “Erase/Rewind” or “Lovefool” from The Cardigans, fronted by Nina Persson. This is a little lesser known track that was on the ‘Life Less Ordinary’ soundtrack.
  3. Cassandra Wilson – I Want More
    Wilson is a wonderful Jazz singer who does great reinterpretations of cool songs and sometimes writes her own, like this one. I love the fast-walking bass line and busy percussion in this track.
  4. Cat Power – Ramblin’ (Wo)man
    Chan Marshall is often backed by Hammond organ and plodding percussion. Here they add some wailing guitar for mood. This is my favorite Cat Power song. Marshall sings this song like a cross between Grace Slick and Janis Joplin. Really. My wife wanted me to pick Love & Communication. It’s a toss up for me. Hers is more upbeat, mine has more soul. Feel free to comment on who picked the better song.
  5. Cibo Matto – Spoon
    The band was fronted by two Japanese women, Yuka Honda and Miho Hatori, though John Lennon’s son Sean actually played bass for them. ‘Stereotype A’ was a fantastic album and this is a solid Pop song from it.
  6. Cocteau Twins – Pepper Tree
    They were never huge in the U.S., but you could hear singer Elizabeth Fraser on the college stations throughout the 90’s. This was never one of their hits. It’s a more obscure track from ‘The BBC Sessions’ but I really like it.
  7. The Cranberries – Sunday
    I liked the Cranberries’ first album so much I picked up all four of their other albums hoping I would like them too. They never reached me again like they did on that first album. “Zombie” was the big hit, but I like this one too. If you listen, make sure you get at least a minute in, past the mellow strings intro.
  8. D’Nell – That’s How I Know
    D’Nell is actually producer Dan Jones and singer Ellie Hajee and thus far they have only released 1 album. That was in 2005 so I don’t know if they’re coming back. I really like Hajee’s vocal performance fronting the cool, oozy R&B groove.
  9. The Dead Weather – Treat Me Like Your Mother
    The Dead Weather is a supergroup co-fronted by Jack White (White Stripes) and Alison Mosshart (The Kills). I didn’t originally rip this track, but it has grown on me a lot. Effed up video, too.
  10. Diana Krall – Devil May Care
    She has a great, smoky voice, mathematically precise fingers on the keyboard, and great Jazz sensibilities. Oh, and she’s beautiful. Here she is doing this song live. Watch her fingers.
  11. Digable Planets – Black Ego
    Ladybug Mecca (born Mary Ann Vieiro) was the female third of this trio – or quartet, if you count their DJ, Silkworm (a.k.a. King Britt) – and I love her voice and her flow. This track is off their second release, ‘Blowout Comb.’
  12. Dionne Farris – Passion
    At some point I know I wrote about Dionne Farris, but I can’t find when I did it. She did some session work with Arrested Development before releasing this album, ‘Wild Seed Wild Flower.’ I always thought she would go all the way, but she never quite broke through. Listen to this song and see if you can figure out why it didn’t go to #1. I can’t.
  13. The Dresden Dolls – Mrs. O
    The inimitable Dresden Dolls describe themselves as “Brechtian punk cabaret.” OK. Works as well as any descriptor I could give them. They get pretty weird and their stuff isn’t for everyone. This is a cool song, though.

Enjoy with a few glasses of champagne. Because I want to get you drunk.

September 25, 2009 - Posted by | Alternative, Electronica, Hard Rock, Hip Hop, Indie, Jazz, Mix CD, Popular, R&B, Rock, World Music

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

