Missed Music

Music you didn’t know you needed…until now.

Phish releases a new single, precursor to their upcoming album

This is turning unexpectedly into the Summer of Phish for me. Yay!

I had already purchased my Bonnaroo ticket when I learned that Phish will be doing two shows there: a  headline show one evening and a midnight show the next. There had been rumors and there was a corresponding gap in their summer tour schedule. I was tickled when it turned out to be true. There are bands I enjoy more than Phish (though not many) but there is no show at which I have more fun. I’m looking very forward to seeing these shows with thousands of happy fans.

The news gets better. The boys have been rehearsing and spending some time in the studio. Today, they released a new single. It is called Time Turns Elastic and you can hear the entire song on their MySpace page. I like it. It reminds me of some of the music from Round Room. Maybe Pebbles and Marbles. It comes in at an epic 13 1/2 minutes and has sections of structured pop and of jazzy noodling. Just $1.29 on iTunes.

The news gets better. This single was released in anticipation of their forthcoming as-yet-unnamed album, due to be released on July 28th. It has been 5 years since their last release (Undermind) and I’ll be very interested to see what, if anything, has changed.

The news gets better. The new album is being produced by Steve Lillywhite. As I mentioned in a previous post in which I expressed my admiration for Mr. Lillywhite, he produced my favorite Phish album, Billy Breathes. I can hardly wait to hear what they were able to accomplish this time around.

Having been a fan since 1993 (thank you, Ramin, for introducing me) I was saddened by both the Hiatus and the Break-up. I always held out hope they would get back together, but I must confess the new work is both unexpected and welcome.

June 1, 2009 - Posted by | Jam Bands, Popular, Rock

2 Comments »

  1. I am so excited! Saturday night Hampton was my first Phish show, and my roomate and I are going to 5 more shows starting @ Starlake Theater then on to Deercreek the next night! Rounding it all out for the last three shows of the tour, this seems like a miracle to me and I am so Grateful to be in this position to enjoy incredible music by one of the most important bands of my lifetime.

    Comment by TieDyeZach | June 10, 2009 | Reply

  2. I just got back from the Roo, where Phish performed twice. They were en fuego. A clean Trey makes all the difference. They were tight. Great shows, both.

    Comment by missedmusic | June 16, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

