Missed Music

Music you didn’t know you needed…until now.

Royal Blues: a mix for your weekend

The Blues ain’t nothin’ but a good man feelin’ bad. I was always curious about the origin of that phrase. I found it. Wow.

So is it schadenfreude that it makes us feel better when we hear it? Maybe it’s just the feeling of commiseration. I’m not sure, but there are times when it’s all I’m in the mood for. I could name 5 people off the top of my head who know more about Blues than I do, but I have collected some faves over the years. Today, I’m going to share them with you, starting with some vintage stuff and moving into some more modern recordings.

  1. Beer Drinkin’ Woman – Memphis Slim
    This song cracks me up. And it’s a great groove.
  2. Roll ‘Em Pete – Big Joe Turner
    Fantastic rolling blues piano in this piece.
  3. Mama, You Got a Daughter – John Lee Hooker
    What a classic. Minimal guitar work but such a heartfelt vocal performance.
  4. Rockin’ & Rollin’ – Lil’ Son Jackson
    Another quiet, small tune. I think it follows John Lee Hooker nicely.
  5. I Got Love If You Want It – Slim Harpo
    Slim Harpo was one of the masters of blues harmonica and he had a great voice.
  6. Big Legged Mommas Are Back In Style – Taj Mahal
    God, he rocks this song. The most danceable Blues tune in my collection.
  7. All Your Love – John Mayall & The Bluesbreakers
    Dude can play guitar. Nuff said.
  8. No Trust – Black Keys
    Hopefully, you’re already familiar with the Black Keys. Pick up any of their discs if you’re not. And see them live, if that’s ever possible.
  9. Lord Have Mercy – North Mississippi Allstars
    Their songwriting can be spotty, but they know their way around Blues standards.
  10. I Asked for Water (She Gave Me Gasoline)– Howlin’ Wolf
    Why is this guy’s voice good?
  11. Lock Doctor – James Harman
    The keys, slow beat, and drawling harmonica give this an oozy feel.
  12. Miss Maybelle – R. L. Burnside
    Make sure you get this version from Wish I Was In Heaven Sitting Down. He’s done this more than once and this one is cooler.
  13. I’m Not Talking – The Yardbirds
    They redid this song for their 2003 release, Birdland. The far superior production makes this a better listen, in my opinion.
  14. Sometimes I Wonder – Jon Cleary & The Absolute Monster Gentlemen
    It’s perhaps the least bluesy song on my mix, but I love it and it’s my closer.

Enjoy with whiskey, straight up. Have a good weekend.

April 17, 2009 - Posted by | Blues

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

