Missed Music

Music you didn’t know you needed…until now.

One and done. Surf music and post-Grunge Hard Rock

As I was wandering through the music racks at the library, I came across a disc by The Blue Stingrays, Surf-n-Burn. I had never heard of them and the cover art insisted they were classic artists from the surf music movement, a la the Ventures or The Surfaris. I’ll listen to anything once and I don’t have any classic surf music so I brought it home. The liner notes told me all about the Legend of The Blue Stingrays. Fascinating stuff.

Great concept and fantastic cover & liner notes.

Great concept and fantastic cover & liner notes.

The story was interesting, but parts of it were goofy. The production was also very good and the cognitive dissonance made me do some Googling. It turns out The Blue Stingrays are actually Tom Petty’s Heartbreakers (without Tom), who put out this fun side project in 1997. The music is good. They really jump into the surf music sound with both feet. Some of it is full on surf groove and some of it is more of a modern surf/rock fusion. A little of this stuff goes a long way for me, but two in particular jumped off the disc at me.

  • Goldfinger – Yes, the movie theme song. It has the 007 music into and outro, and the rest is the Goldfinger song. It’s extremely cool.
  • Russian Roulette – Whenever this song comes on I feel like I’m in a Quentin Tarrantino movie about to do a dance number with Uma Thurman. The guitar is drenched in reverb, the drummer rides the cymbal. Smooth.

They have never toured and are apparently not doing another album. This one is fun, though. They have a MySpace page.

I don't think this dude was in the band. Maybe the bass player.

I don't think this dude was in the band. Maybe the bass player.

The other disc you might want to check out is The Buzzhorn’s 2002 release Disconnected. These guys apparently signed with Atlantic Records, put out this great hard rock album, but didn’t get much support because Atlantic was pushing Taproot much harder. As things stand now, the band is done and the members have moved on to other projects. This one is worth going back and checking out, though. I pulled these three tracks onto my iPod.

  • To Live Again – It’s not necessarily a fresh sound, as it grows directly out of the Grunge scene, but damn it they do it really well. This song rocks.
  • Disconnected – This one sounds like a good Soundgarden song. Well, maybe not the vocals, since not many people are as good as Chris Cornell, but it’s a pounding groove with a great harmony hook at the chorus.
  • Rhino – “No, you couldn’t stop the rhino. Can’t take away what I no longer know.” I have no idea what the heck he’s talking about, but I like the song.

The song Ordinary from this album was featured in the video game Need for Speed Hot Pursuit 2, but I’m not crazy about it.

Their site is gone. No MySpace. RIP Buzzhorn.

April 14, 2009 - Posted by | Alternative, Classic Rock, Hard Rock, Jazz

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

