Missed Music

Music you didn’t know you needed…until now.

The Friday mix is Pop and Rock suitable for Spring Break

I have been on vacation this week (hence the slightly short posts). If you have a vacation coming up, you might enjoy some of these tunes. This mix should be decent highway music or good in a CD player at the beach. It’s really just a grab bag of stuff I enjoy listening to while I kick back.

Now if you'll excuse me... I'm extremely busy.

Now if you'll excuse me... I'm extremely busy.

  1. Swing – Ani DiFranco
    I’m not always a fan of Ani DiFranco’s stuff, but To the Teeth was a great album and I absolutely love the funky sax work in this song.
  2. Got Messed Up – R. L. Burnside
    The late, great R. L. Burnside. Traditional blues with modern production values, scratching, etc. Awesome.
  3. Busting Up a Starbucks – Mike Doughty
    His old band, Soul Coughing, described themselves as “deep slacker jazz.” They’ve broken up, but he remains extremely cool.
  4. Sticks and Stones – Bruce Hornsby
    I will dedicate an entire day to Mr. Hornsby soon. Just a couple radio hits in his career, but he has never stopped writing great music.
  5. Keep a Lid on Things – Crash Test Dummies
    OK. Everyone remembers these guys but this song never made it very big as far as I remember. I like this oozy song and it follows Sticks and Stones nicely.
  6. Jesus – Brand New
    This song is kind of deep, actually, and I like the way it builds. Cool tune.
  7. Teardrop – Newton Faulkner
    You’re probably familiar with the Zero 7 version, but these guys take it in a little different direction. I love the vocal harmonies.
  8. Tiny Spark – Brendan Benson/Jason Falkner
    Brendon Benson of The Raconteurs and Jason Falkner of Jellyfish and The Grays collaborate to produce this catchy pop song.
  9. Love and Tears – The Slip
    This is a good song on the strength of the lyrics alone, but the music makes it great.
  10. All Your Way – Morphine
    I wrote about Twinemen a few weeks ago and told you to check out Morphine. Here is one of my faves.
  11. Your Lies – Shelby Lynn
    The producer who brought you Sheryl Crow’s Tuesday Night Music Club  also produced this and you can hear it in the sound. This is the single from this great album.
  12. Given Up Girls – The Witches
    The Witches were one of the many incarnations of Troy Gregory. I like the sentiment and the guitar riff.
  13. She’s My Ride Home – Blue October
    True friends (and lovers) would help you hide a body. And Blue October wrote a song about it. Ah, the romance.
  14. Looks Just Like the Sun – Broken Social Scene
    Not at all obscure, but I really like this song so it goes on my mix.
  15. Revolutionary Kind – Gomez
    These guys have grown in popularity since I first heard them. If you haven’t checked out their early release Liquid Skin, do yourself a favor and check it out.

Enjoy with a Pina Colada. Have a good weekend or week off.

March 27, 2009 - Posted by | Alternative, Blues, Mix CD, Popular, Rock

2 Comments »

  1. Ani is going to be at Bonnaroo, yay!

    Comment by susie | March 30, 2009 | Reply

    • The one I’m really excited about is Toumani Diabate and Bela Fleck. I’ll blog about Toumani tomorrow.

      Comment by missedmusic | March 30, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

