Missed Music

Music you didn’t know you needed…until now.

A Hip Hop mix for your weekend

Thses guys drop more science than a Kansas school board. (Image Huffington Post)

Thses guys drop more science than a Kansas school board. (Image Huffington Post)

I wasn’t a big fan of Rap when it came on the scene but I had a feeling I was going to like the influence it had on popular music. The birth of Hip Hop and the many collisions between it and other genres has been fantastic. As always on Missed Music, I tried to pick stuff that not everyone would know about, so no megahits. It does, however, represent some of the great Hip Hop I’ve found lurking in the corners.

  1. Candyman – Cornershop
    This tune was recently used by Nas (and Nike in a commercial with LeBron James). As I listen to it, I find myself wishing Nas would shut up so I could hear the song. I’ll give him credit for recognizing a great groove, but the original is better
  2. Push – Pharoah Conch feat Mela Machinko, Showtyme, & Tower of Power
    Tower of Power still knows how to blow. The horns will push you back in your seat.
  3. Chali 2na Comin’ Thru – Chali 2na / DJ Nu-Mark
    I love Chali 2na so it’s great that he works with everyone. I’m always glad to hear his voice pop up on a track.
  4. They Say – Common Feat. Kanye West & John Legend
    I’m a big fan of the Chicago sound. It was hard to pick one from Common, but I like this track and there’s a lot of talent represented by this trio.
  5. Feng Shui – Gnarls Barkley
    I like just about everything Danger Mouse touches. This is a little minute and a half number that is tight and kind of funny.
  6. Trade Money – Dilated Peoples
    This is a head bobber about getting’ paid. “We don’t love money but we don’t hate money.”
  7. Work It Out – Jurassic 5 / Dave Matthews
    More Chali 2na! Yay! Good use of Dave Matthews here, too.
  8. Superstar – Lupe Fiasco
    I dragged a bunch of my friends to go see Lupe Fiasco at Bonnaroo last year and he absolutely kicked everybody’s ass. He broke this song out there.
  9. We Trying to Stay Alive – John Forté/Pras/Wyclef Jean
    Gotta like it when Pras and Wyclef get together. This uses the old Bee Gees tune heavily.
  10. Wait Up – Q-Tip
    This is the first track on Q-Tip’s (Tribe Called Quest) solo release, Amplified. Amazon doesn’t sell MP3s of this disc so they don’t have samples, but iTunes does.
  11. Keep Me Lifted – Spearhead
    This is such a smooth groove. I almost picked Wayfarin’ Stranger (featuring the great Joan Osborne) off this album, but this one’s a little more upbeat.
  12. Weak Become Heroes – The Streets
    This song is thin in terms of samples and instrumentation, but I love Mike Skinner’s flow.
  13. Apocalypse – Wyclef Jean
    Wyclef is a genius. ‘Nuff said.
  14. Murs Day – 9th Wonder / Murs
    Murs thinks Hip Hop is stuck in a rut. Here he comes to save the day.
  15. Real Talk (Lark Chillout Remix) – Lord Finesse Feat. Grand Puba
    Listen to this one. There are a couple versions of this song, but the Lark Chillout remix is the one to get. Sadly, I can’t find it on Amazon, Artist Direct, or iTunes. So I’m telling you about it. I hope you love it as much as I do and go find it somewhere.

Enjoy and have a good weekend!

March 20, 2009 - Posted by | Hip Hop, Mix CD

2 Comments »

  1. Yup, Mr. Missed Music “dragged” me to see Lupe and he and his ensemble completely blew me away. Fantastic live show. The only downer was leaving that show to go see Sigur Ros (stupid).

    Comment by Uncle Rockie | March 23, 2009 | Reply

    • At least we had the sense to leave Kanye when he was only an hour late for the stage.

      Comment by missedmusic | March 23, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

