Missed Music

Music you didn’t know you needed…until now.

Inventive, infectious pop from Ambulance Ltd.

Relax. Don't think about the way I treat you.

Relax. Don't think about the way I treat you.

You will like Ambulance Ltd. The group formed in Spanish Harlem, NY in 2000 and their 2004 self titled debut is a winner end to end. Nine of the twelve tracks on this CD made the cut and are on my iPod. I’ve heard their music described as dream pop and shoegazing, though their sound is a little more mainstream than other bands lumped into this genre (Cocteau Twins, for example). You should run out and get the whole album but at the very least check out the tracks I describe below.

  • Yoga Means Union – The CD kicks off with this cool instrumental that builds slowly and changes midway through. Both halves are cool.
  • Primitive (The Way I Treat You) – This is my favorite track on the disc and contains the line I drop a wire to your mom and your dad saying, “Relax. Don’t think about… the way I treat you.”
  • Anecdote – This catchy pop tune is a cross between Wilco and the Shins.
  • Sugar Pill – I love the work Ezra Oklan does on drums throughout this album and this is a good example of how he modifies the initial groove he lays down to change the mood in different sections of the song.
  • Swim – The sweet harmonies and bending guitar riffs in this song make me think of Oasis, except I like it better than 99% of what Oasis does.

Ophelia, Stay Where You Are, Stay Tuned, and Young Urban are also cool tracks from this release on my iPod

You can find their website here. If you’re on FaceBook, their page streams free MP3s, so you can check those out too.

February 11, 2009 - Posted by | Popular

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

